Focus on the Upcoming Municipal Election

The upcoming municipal election will be held on Saturday, May 4, 2019. Garland City Council Members representing Districts 3, 6, 7 and 8 are up for reelection. Filing deadline for candidates wishing to be on the ballot was February 15th.


Lori Barnett Dodson, currently serving as Garland’s Mayor, will not be seeking re election. Scott LeMay, having served 6 years on the Council representing District 7, is terming out and has filed as a mayoral candidate. Raul Garcia also filed as a candidate for Mayor, but was disqualified due to error in his filing and will not appear on the ballot. That means that Scott LeMay, being the only verified candidate for that Office, will be our next Mayor.


In District 3 incumbent Jerry Nickerson is being challenged by Stephen Stanley.


In District 6 incumbent Robert Vera is being challenged by Patrick Abell.


In District 7 incumbent Dylan Hedrick will be replacing Scott LeMay and running unopposed.


In District 8 incumbent Robert John Smith Will continue to serve his constituents for 2 more years, as he has no challengers.


GISD Board of Trustees: Election for the appointment of 3 Members, one member in Place 1, one member in Place 2 and one member in Place 3.


Place 1 Position 1  Larry Glick


Place 2 Position 1 Johnny Beach


Place 3 Position 1 Linda Griffin


Place 3 Position 2 Bob Duckworth


Garland’s citizens will also be asked to vote on a Bond Proposal.